Electric Vehicle Product Commission

Purpose of the commission

Governor Holcomb signed House Bill 1168 into law during the 2021 legislative session, establishing the Electric Vehicle Product Commission. The 10-member commission is comprised of legislative representatives and industry leader who are tasked with:

  • Evaluating the inventory of existing electric vehicle product facilities and production capability.
  • Evaluate the inventory of skilled and nonskilled workers in the electric vehicle product industry.
  • Evaluate opportunities and needs for training within the electric vehicle product industry.
  • Determine if training centers promoting careers in the electric vehicle product industry should be created or transitioned from traditional automotive industry training centers.
  • Identify existing manufacturing competencies within the traditional automotive industry and determine how the existing competencies could be leveraged to increase the production of electric vehicles.
  • Identify and evaluate opportunities for growth within the electric vehicle product industry.
  • Identify and document results from previous instances of retooling and transforming manufacturing facilities in the automotive industry.
  • Identify opportunities for research and development within the electric vehicle product industry.

The commission is required to submit an annual report of its findings to the IEDC and will operate until December 31, 2026.


Members of the commission

The commission members include:

  • David Dukes, Stellantis
  • Mike Maten, GM
  • Danny Ernstes, UAW
  • Paul Mitchell, Energy Systems Network
  • Craig Kelle, Toyota
  • Rep. Mike Karickhoff, State Representative
  • Rep. Carey Hamilton, State Representative
  • Sen. J.D. Ford, State Senator
  • Sen. Jim Buck, State Senator

If you have any questions pertaining to the commission, please contact the IEDC contact listed below:

Ian Ward-